COVID Simul Checkmate with Viswanathan Anand


Managing Director Viswanathan Anand, along with Managing Directors Koneru Humpy, Harika Dronavalli, Nihal Sarin and Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu, will offer concurrent exhibitions on Chess.com to support COVID relief in India on May 13 at 7:30 p.m. IST / 7 a.m. PDT / 4 p.m. CEST. All proceeds go to RedCross India and Checkmate COVID initiative of the All India Chess Federation (AICF).

IM Danny Rensch and Samay Raina will host the live broadcast on Chess.com/tv. To participate in the simulation, players must have a standard Chess.com blitz or FIDE rating of less than 2000 and will be required to donate $ 25 during the registration process, or $ 150 to play former world champion Anand [Editor’s note: All spots for the simuls have been filled!]. Chess.com will also accept donations before and during the broadcast and will match all donations up to a total of $ 10,000.

Donate for COVID Relief!

With over a hundred games running simultaneously on all simulations, a 30 minute time control with a 30 second increment will be used for all games. Grandmasters giving the simulations will have an additional 15 minutes on their clock.

The registration form for simul with other GMs is now closed:

The registration form for the Anand Simul is now closed:

There was a 24-hour preliminary event in the arena on Saturday, May 8, where the top-ranked Indian player won a free seat to face Anand.

Throughout the week there will also be daily social media contests with freebies! Stay tuned Chess.com India on Twitter for updates.

For those of you who would like to contribute to this great cause but don’t necessarily want to participate in a simulation, you can donate here or click the button below. Remember, Chess.com will match all donations up to $ 10,000 in total!



Comments are closed.