Chess: the 5th Kireka Open in Namugongo

The 5th edition of the highly anticipated Kireka Open-rated Chess Championship will be in the spotlight from Tuesday December 28 to Friday December 31, 2021 at Gloria Gardens located in Namugongo after the Catholic Martyrs Shrine in Kampala.

More than 200 players are expected to compete in the championship which is the Ugandan Chess Federation (UCF) Grandprix Circuit’s second qualifying tournament for the 2022 Russia Chess Olympiad and other international events.

Organized by the Kireka Chess Club, winner of the Premier Bet Uganda Chess League 2019, the second Grand Prix qualifying tournament for the 2022 Olympiad in Khanty, Mansiysk follows the previous Rwabushenyi Memorial Open which took place in Kiwatule.

The 2021 edition is open to all players with a FIDE ID and will take place under the Swiss twinning system over a total of 8 rounds. The event will be held in a single section but will offer prizes to open and female participants, seniors, Brilliant and U1600 rated players.

The 5th Open Kireka will also include the unranked junior section which will be played for 2 days (Thursday and Friday), each day comprising 3 rounds, with a time check of 1 hour per player from the first shot.

The total number of laps will be 6 laps and the participants in this section will receive participation certificates while the top 3 in each category for boys and girls will receive medals.

The unranked junior section will have age categories of U10, U12, U14, U16 and U18.

Other Grand Prize events include; Kantinti Memorial Chess Championship (February 2022), Zabassajja Memorial Open Chess Championship (March 2022) and Uganda Open Chess Championship (April 2022).

At the culmination of the five qualifying rounds, a roster of 24 players (12 men and 12 women) will be selected based on the final standings of the UCF Grand Prix circuit, including one junior champion and one wild card entry to participate in the championship. national. Moscow 2022 qualifying final phase.

The selection will be made on the basis of the best three events performed out of the five. Players will then proceed to a single round robin which will determine the top 5 open and female players who will form the 2022 Uganda Olympiad 10-player squad.

International Master (IM) Arthur Segwanyi won the 2019 championship and the inaugural championship in 2016. While the Fide Master Harold Wanyama (2017) and Solomon Lubega (2018) won the other editions.

5th Kireka open price structure

Open category

• Winner – UGX. 100,000
• Second – UGX 700,000
• Third – UGX 450000
• Fourth – 200,000 UGX
• Fifth – UGX 100,000

Ladies Category

• Winner – UGX 700,000
• Finalist – UGX 350000
• Second finalist – UGX 150,000
• Fourth – UGX 100,000

Best senior (50 years +) – UGX 100,000
Brilliant Player – UGX 100,000
Ranking U1600 – UGX 100,000

Rules, regulations and tie-breaking systems

• The tournament is open to all players with a FIDE ID and will take place under the Swiss twinning system over a total of 8 rounds. The tournament will be played in a single section but will offer prizes to open and female participants.

• A maximum of 150 players will be accommodated with preference given to
players who already have a FIDE ID and URS â„¢ rating. Local unranked players who wish to obtain an official FIDE and URS â„¢ rating are encouraged to register as early as possible to avoid disappointment.

• Players who do not have an official FIDE ID should ask their local chess federation to create one for them before the start of the tournament.

• The time control for all games is 90 minutes plus 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move 1.

• No drawing offer will be allowed until Black has completed their 30th move.

• Downtime control should be applied.

• Any player giving a pass without any justification will be required to pay a fine of
50,000 / -, so advise the referee to omit your name from the pairing list if you intend to miss a round in order to avoid penalties.

Kireka Open previous winners

• MI Ssegwanyi Arthur – 2019
• Lubega Salomon – 2018
• FM Wanyama Harold – 2017
• MI Ssegwanyi Arthur 2016

Comments are closed.