44th Chess Olympiad: Cm, Grandmaster, Kiran Agrawal will join the torch relay | Raipur News

Raipur: Chhattisgarh will warmly welcome torch relay of the 44th Chess Olympiadarriving in the state capital on July 16.
The torch relay which will arrive at Swami Vivekananda Airport in Raipur from Bhubaneswar at 9 am on July 16 will be received by Indian Grand Master Pravin Thipsay. The relay will be transported in an open vehicle through a rally and will remain in Raipur for nearly four hours. En route to Pt Deendayal Upadhyay Auditorium, Government Science College, Raipur, the relay will be warmly welcomed at different locations in the city.
CM Baghel will be presented with the torch relay by the Grand Master in the auditorium. The grandmaster will then play simultaneously with approximately 25 chess state players, said Chhattisgarh State Chess Association Secretary General Vinod Rathi.
The CM, who will be the main guest of the program, will then hand over the torch relay to Kiran Agrawal, a retired BSP employee, who represented India at the 1986 Chess Olympiad in the United Arab Emirates and at the Chess Olympiad in failures of 1990 in Yugoslavia.
As she is currently the top chess player in the state, she will receive the CM Torch Relay as per tradition, Rathi said. Around 1:00 p.m., the relay will depart towards Hyderabad.
The Torch Relay Chess Olympiad, which is being hosted for the first time in the 95-year history of the Olympiad, will cover 75 cities across the country before reaching Chennai, to mark 75 years of independence. The Olympiad will be held from July 28 to August 10, 2022, at which around 2,000 players, including many grandmasters, from 188 nations are expected.
To provide a learning platform for aspiring chess players in the country, the Indian Chess Federation (AICF) has invited six players, who must be students, each from all states to attend the Olympiad of chess. In this sequence, six players, including three boys and three girls, from Chhattisgarh will have the opportunity to see and learn from the Olympiad. According to the AICF, two students, including a girl and a boy, must come from public schools.
The selected students from Chhattisgarh are Yashasva Anil Kanholkar (Durg), Arnav Drolia (Raipur), Prashant Kumar Dhruwanshi (Bilaspur), Madke Ishika (Durg), Rashi Warudkar (Rajnandgaon) and Dharini Sahu (Balod).


FacebookTwitterinstagramKOO APPYOUTUBE

Comments are closed.